“Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal” by Jeanette Winterson

Interestingly enough, my “problem”* can be explained using quotes** from the same book.

I can relate to and agree wholeheartedly with this quote:

“Books, for me, are a home. Books don’t make a home – they are one, in the sense that just as you do with a door, you open a book, and you go inside. Inside there is a different kind of time and a different kind of space.”

And, yet, the “Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?” itself can be described by other quote from the book:

“My friends joke that I won’t shut the door unless it is officially bedtime or actually snowing into the kitchen. The first thing I do when I get up in the morning is to open the back door. […]

All those hours spent sitting on my bum on the doorstep have given me a feeling for liminal space. I love the way cats like to be half in half out, the wild and the tame, and I too am the wild and the tame. I am domestic, but only if the door is open.

And I guess that is the key – no one is ever going to lock me in or to lock me out again. My door is open and I am the one who opens it.”

You see, unlike the case with the books where one enters and then remains inside the book for the duration of the story, “Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?” is the kind of book where one feels most comfortable visiting like a cat – half in half out. And such a position means that too often it is too easy to get distracted by what is out and wander away, leaving the temporary home inside the book.

Sometimes one leaves for couple of minutes, sometimes one never returns, as the other distractions are tempting one further and further away into OTHER, more demanding and possessive homes.

* I am at page 63 and may return the book to library without finishing it, even if I do like writing by Jeanette Winterson
** and this surely IS a very quote worthy book from my point of view

Leave a Reply

